FFRF Editorial Assistant Casandra Zimmerman helps keep members informed

FFRF Editorial Assistant Casandra Zimmerman, left, enjoys an evening with her friend Elizabeth at the Grateful Shed venue in the Wisconsin Dells.

Name: Casandra Zimmerman.

Where and when I was born: Dodgeville, Wis., in 1997. My cesarian delivery was scheduled so the doctor would be able to attend the opening season of deer hunting.

Education: Associate’s degree in liberal arts, a certificate in gender and women’s studies from Madison College and a bachelor’s degree in English from the University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee.

Family: I love my parents and brothers, but I want to give a shout-out to my grandmother, Rita Zimmerman, who is part of the reason I care about FFRF’s mission in the first place.

How I came to work at FFRF: I got lucky enough to work here because of my experience with writing and editing and my belief in the separation of state and church. I was still living in Milwaukee when I got the job.

What I do here: I am the editorial assistant/content writer. I write press releases and action alerts and send them out to members and media. I do various other tasks like writing the FFRF Victories report for Freethought Today and managing the Twitter account.

What I like best about it: Working with a purpose and not making money for a greedy corporation.

What gets old about it: Moderating Facebook comments or driving on John Nolen Drive every day. I can’t decide which is worse.

I spend a lot of time thinking about: Dogs and traveling.

I spend little if any, time thinking about: Whether there is an afterlife.

My religious upbringing was: Catholicism, loose Catholicism. While I had to attend an after-school religious ed class and have maintained a never-ending core of Catholic guilt, my dad was nonreligious and my mom wasn’t extremely strict or conservative. 

My doubts about religion started: When I was 5 or 6. I started to question the logistics of God and Christianity. Then, I wondered why Catholics hated so many people. Then, finally, at age 12, I made up my mind that I don’t believe a god or gods exist and religion wasn’t for me.

Things I like: Coffee, travel, music, cozy couches. Preferably all simultaneously.

Things I smite: Spending an extended period talking about myself. People with no empathy or compassion.

Favorite quote: “We’re all going to die, all of us, what a circus! That alone should make us love each other, but it doesn’t. We are terrorized and flattened by trivialities, we are eaten up by nothing.” — Novelist and poet Charles Bukowski.

Future plans/goals: Spending as much time as possible doing what I love with the people that I love.